February 5, 2021

Subcommittee asks Senate to confirm Tom Vilsack

The Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry on Feb. 2 voted unanimously to recommend the full Senate confirm Tom Vilsack as President Joe Biden’s secretary of agriculture. Vilsack appeared before the panel today, and the committee’s favorable decision to forward his nomination was never in doubt. Because the Senate had yet to formally organize its committees, Senator Deborah Stabenow of Michigan, who will be the next chairman of the committee, and John Boozman of Arkansas, who was expected to be the ranking member of the committee in the new Congress, co-chaired the session. Read more