January 13, 2015

Bird flu fears lead 30 countries to ban Northwest poultry

U.S. poultry exports are starting to suffer following the discovery of avian flu infections in backyard flocks in Washington and Oregon. Since infected birds were first found in mid-December, 29 countries as well as the European Union have restricted poultry imports, according to the USDA. Most of the restrictions apply to Oregon and Washington, or even just to the small areas within those states where the virus was found. But in a damaging blow to export producers, Politico

reported that three countries (Sri Lanka, South Korea and Thailand) have restricted poultry trade for the entire U.S. Read More

Leave a Reply