January 17, 2014

USDA designates California ag counties for drought disaster assistance

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 27 of California’s 58 counties as natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by extreme drought. Click here for the list of counties. Agricultural operators in all counties designated as natural disaster areas may qualify for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA). Counties that are contiguous to the primary disaster counties declared also qualify for USDA natural disaster assistance. The agency will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. The maximum amount for an EM loan is $500,000.  Read More

Leave a Reply